1184 Bishop St, Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: (808) 585-3300 Fax: (808) 521-8428
Roman Catholics

Roman Catholic Church in the state of hawaii

Diocese of Honolulu

Witness to Jesus

Diocesan Offices

Diocesan Offices

Permanent Deacons

"The deacon is the Sacrament of Service." Bishop Larry Silva

Deacon Michael Weaver, as Director of Permanent Deacons, serves at the pleasure of the Bishop as his representative for the overall administration of the Deacon Community in the areas of ministry and continuing formation, both educational and spiritual. Deacon Weaver is in active service at St. Anthony of Padua Church in Kailua.

Deacon Michael Weaver
Director of Permanent Deacons
(808) 542-2084




About Permanent Deacons 

The office and ministry of the permanent deacon is a distinctive vocation in the Catholic Church. Although the diaconate is an ordained ministry of the Church, it is a different ministry from that of priests.

Deacons are ordained into a ministry of service, and enjoy a special relationship with the bishop. The permanent diaconate provides a “greater and more direct presence of Church ministers in the various spheres of the family, work, school, etc., in addition to existing pastoral structures,” according to Pope John Paul II.

If you are interested in becoming a permanent deacon, visit our web pages for Deacon Formation or call Deacon John Coughlin, Co-Director, Office of Permanent Deacon Formation at (808) 203-6729 or jcoughlin@rcchawaii.org.

Deacon Council

Deacon Mike Brown, Chair
Deacon Bambi Emayo, Vice Chair
Mrs. Valerie Streff, Secretary

Ex Officio
Most Rev. Clarence (Larry) Silva

Rev. Gregorio Honorio, Vicar for Clergy
  Office of Clergy

Deacon Michael Weaver, Director
  Permanent Deacons

Deacon John Coughlin, Co-Director,
  Office of Permanent Deacon Formation 

Kathleen Coughlin, Co-Director,
  Office of Permanent Deacon Formation

West Hawaii Representatives
Deacon Thomas Adams

East Hawaii Representative 
Deacon Joe Aglia
Deacon Dave Watson

Maui Representatives
Deacon Chris Ribucan
Dr. Charmain Bissen

Kauai Representatives
Deacon Andres Bambi Emayo
Deacon David Kane

Central Oahu Representatives
Deacon Ray Lamb
Mrs. Valerie Streff

Leeward Oahu Representatives
Deacon Will Friese
Mrs. Lana Vargas

Windward Oahu
Deacon Billy Whitfield
Mrs. Lori Whitfield

East Honolulu
Deacon Steve Kula
Deacon Rafael Mendoza

West Honolulu
Deacon Ricardo Burgos
Deacon Mike Brown 

Deacon Pastoral Council Representative
Deacon Steve Kula



The Deacon Council of the Diocese of Honolulu was established to serve as an advisory body to the Bishop regarding the formation, ministry, and life of the deacon in the diocese. The council also provides a forum for input from deacons, their wives and widows, their families, pastors, parishes, and the whole community of the faithful.


The membership of the council consists of elected representatives chosen from among the deacon community from each of the vicariates of the diocese.

Diaconal Covenant